Congressman John Carter

Representing the 31st District of Texas

Bipartisan Group of Members Introduce Legislation Calling for Release of Disaster Funds

May 15, 2019
Press Release

(Washington, DC)– Today, Reps. Lizzie Fletcher (TX-07), Randy Weber (TX-14), Brian Babin (TX-36), Kevin Brady (TX-08), G.K. Butterfield (NC-01), John Carter (TX-31), Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), Joe Cunningham (SC-01), Bill Flores (TX-17), Sylvia Garcia (TX-29), Jeniffer Gonzalez-Colon (PR-AL), Garret Graves (LA-06), Al Green, (TX-09), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Michael McCaul (TX-10), Pete Olson (TX-22), Tom Rice (SC-07), David Rouzer (NC-07), and Ted Yoho (FL-03), introduced the Bipartisan Disaster Recovery Funding Act.  The bill directs the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) to release $16 billion in long-awaited disaster relief funding within 60 days to nine states and two U.S. territories – including Texas, Louisiana, North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, and Puerto Rico.

“Congress acted quickly to approve aid for our communities in the wake of several devastating storms. Unfortunately, the agencies tasked with distributing these funds to our states have not acted with similar haste,” said the members.“Hurricane season starts in two weeks. Our communities continue to wait for the funds needed to recover and rebuild from past storms, funds that should have gone toward rebuilding and preparing for the next storms in Texas, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Louisiana, and Puerto Rico. Our legislation is a common-sense ask: Release the funding already appropriated; grant our communities the resources needed to rebuild and recover.”

Congress appropriated funds for mitigation and resiliency on February 9, 2018 through the Bipartisan Budget Agreement of 2018. These funds and activities would be determined by Community Development Block Grant-Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) programs run by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). We are still waiting on the final rule from HUD 15 months later. Last month, during a Senate Appropriations Committee hearing, Secretary Ben Carson testified the rules would be published by May 1, 2019, and funds distributed shortly thereafter.