Skip to Content

Press Releases

Carter Cosponsors Legislation Awarding the Congressional Gold Medal to the Thirteen Fallen Heroes

 Representative John Carter (R-TX) joined Representative Lisa McCain (R-MI) and over 200 of their colleagues in introducing legislation to award the Congressional Gold Medal to the 13 service members who lost their lives in the Kabul terrorist attack.

"The men and women who gave their lives protecting their fellow Americans in Afghanistan made the ultimate sacrifice and represent the best America has to offer. My heart is heavy for the thirteen new Gold Star families and I hope they know that the actions of their loved ones will never be forgotten. That is why I am honored to cosponsor this important piece of legislation and make it known that their sacrifices were not in vain, and that their dedication to this country will be forever honored."

The Congressional Gold Medal is the highest expression of national appreciation bestowed by Congress and is awarded to individuals or institutions that demonstrate distinct achievements or contributions to our nation. This legislation will award the Congressional Gold Medal to Staff Sgt. Darin T. Hoover, Sgt. Johanny Rosario Pichardo, Sgt. Nicole Gee, Cpl. Hunter Lopez, Cpl. Daegan Page, Cpl. Humberto Sanchez, Lance Cpl. David Lee Espinoza, Lance Cpl. Jared Schmitz, Lance Cpl. Rylee McCollum, Lance Cpl. Dylan Merola, Lance Cpl. Kareem Nikoui, Navy Corpsman Maxton Soviak and Staff Sgt. Ryan Knauss.


Representative Carter represents Texas’ 31st District which includes Fort Hood, the largest active duty armored military installation in the free world. He serves as Co-Chairman of the Congressional Army Caucus and Ranking Member of the Military Construction of Veterans Affairs Subcommittee on Appropriations.

Newsletter Subscription

Stay Connected

Add your email to get the latest updates