Enewsletter Signup

Contact John

Congressional Veteran Commendation Program

About the Congressional Veteran Commendation (CVC)
The Congressional Veteran Commendation is a nominations-based program designed to recognize the wartime sacrifices and peacetime community involvement of residents of the 31st Congressional District of Texas. Honorees are exceptional Americans in every way.
The 2020 CVC honorees will be announced and recognized by Congressman John Carter at a special ceremony on October 17, 2020 at 10:00 am at Texas A&M University - Central Texas in Killeen.
Eligibility Requirements
  • Veteran must currently reside in the 31st Congressional District of Texas. To verify, please visit www.house.gov and enter the veteran’s ZIP code in the box entitled “Find Your Representative.”
  • Veteran was active duty in the United States Armed Forces or was a reservist called to active duty.
  • Veteran retired from the United States Armed Forces or was honorably discharged.
Nomination Instructions
Please send the following items, in one cohesive package, to 1717 North IH-35, Suite 303, Round Rock, Texas, 78664 by August 7, 2020:
  • This Nomination Form, completed in its entirety. The nomination form can be found at the bottom of this page. 
  • A 1-2 page letter, addressed to Congressman John Carter, which details why you believe the nominee should receive the 31st District’s Congressional Veteran Commendation. The letter should contain as much information as possible about the veteran’s heroism while in the military and community involvement thereafter.
  • A current photo of the veteran.
  • DD-214
  • Copies of photos, military records, news clippings and other two-dimensional memorabilia which help you to tell the story of the veteran’s military and community service. These items are considered supplemental and are not required; should you choose to submit them, do not submit originals. Please limit your nomination packet to three 8.5x11” pages of supplemental materials.

Congressman John Carter poses with recipients of the 2019 Congressional Veteran Commendation


2019 TX-31 Congressional Veteran Commendation Award Recipients:

Walter Brown - U.S. Army

Tony Dale - U.S. Army

Daniel Elswick - U.S. Army

K.C. Hawkins - U.S. Army

Edward LeBlanc - U.S. Army

John T. Potts, Jr. - U.S. Air Force

Hugh D. Shine - U.S. Army

William Simmons - U.S. Army

Anthony J. Skubi III - U.S. Army

John M.Sykes, Jr. - U.S. Army

Harlan E. 'Rip' VanWinkle - U.S. Army

2018 TX-31 Congressional Veteran Commendation Award Recipients: 

Cynthia E. Davis - U.S. Navy         

Adrienne Evans-Quickley - U.S. Army

Bill Dean - U.S. Army      

Jackeline Fountain - U.S. Army  

Terry Fountain -  U.S. Army         

Gonzalo Garza - U.S. Marine Corps           

Jerry L.  Kovar - U.S.Marine Corps             

Martin Palmer - U.S.  Army Reserve       

W.C. 'Pat' Patterson - U.S. Army               

Julian A. Roadman - US Army Air Corps  

William Simmons - U.S. Army


2017 TX-31 Congressional Veteran Commendation Award Recipients: 

Pete Aranda, Jr. -  U.S. Army      

Skip Blancett - U.S. Navy              

Larry Bush - U.S. Marine Corps   

Pat Christ - U.S. Army     

Dennis  DeWine - U.S. Army        

Phillip   Duprey - U.S. Army         

James W. Harrell - U.S. Marine Corps

Rufus    Honeycutt - U.S. Marine Corps

Barry     Richard - U.S. Air Force

Gery Brent Truitt - U.S. Army      

Raul G.  Villaronga - U.S. Army  

Will Williams - U.S. Army             


2016 TX-31 Congressional Veteran Commendation Award Recipients: 

Troy R.  Cole, Sr. - U.S. Navy       

Roberto Vasquez - U.S. Marine Corps

GeorgeWhite - U.S. Army           

Robert  Halverson - U.S. Army    

DonaldSchliesser - U.S. Army    

Otis Evans - U.S.Army              

Pete Taylor - U.S. Army            

Elijah King, Jr.- U.S. Army        

Shirley  Stephenson - U.S. Women's Army Corps               

Frank Thompson - U.S. Army   


2015 TX-31 Congressional Veteran Commendation Award Recipients:

Albert Campbell - U.S. Army     

Richard Hernandez Sr. - U.S. Army           

Roosevelt Huggins - U.S. Army 

Eula Mae Jett - U.S. Army

Jerri Lynn Jones - U.S. Marine Corps

Guadalupe Lopez - U.S. Army     

Frank     Minosky - U.S. Army

Robert  Shoemaker - U.S. Army 

Major Stewart - U.S. Air Force

Jim Torres - U.S. Air Force            

2020 Congressional Veteran Commendation Application (02/11/2004:28 PMET )

    How to use: Insert <span class="EXACT_VALUE_LABEL_AS_ENTERED_BELOW">&nbsp;</span> where you'd like the value to be populated.

    Non-breaking space within span tags - &nbsp; - is required for WYSIWYG.

    (no spaces or special characters)


    Comments (optional)
    repName John Smith  
    helpWithFedAgencyAddress Haverhill District Office
    1234 S. Courthouse
    Haverhill, CA 35602
    district 21st District of California  
    academyUSCitizenDate July 1, 2012  
    academyAgeDate July 1, 2012  
    academyApplicationDueDate October 20, 2012  
    repStateABBR AZ  
    repDistrict 1  
    repState Arizona  
    repDistrictText 1st  
    SponsoredBills Sponsored Bills  
    CoSponsoredBills Co-Sponsored Bills  
  • Office Locations Push

    Office Name Location Image Map URL
    Washington DC
    2110 Rayburn H.O.B.
    Washington, D.C. 20515
    (202) 225-3864
    Round Rock Office
    1717 North IH 35
    Suite 303
    Round Rock, TX 78664
    (512) 246-1600
    Bell County Office
    6544B S. General Bruce Drive
    Temple, TX 76502
    Located next to the DPS office
    (254) 933-1392